Governance - The National Library of Jamaica

Board of Management


The National Library of Jamaica is governed by a Board of Management appointed by the Minister of government under whose portfolio the NLJ falls. The composition of the Board must be at least eleven persons but no more than thirteen. They serve for a period of three years. The current members are:

1. Ms. Joy Douglas, Chairman

2. Ms. Lydia Rose, Deputy Chairman

3. Father Michael Allen

4. Mr. Vivian Crawford

5. Professor Edward Baugh

6. Mr. Troy Caine

7. Mrs. Dawn Henry

8. Dr. Paulette Kerr

9. Ms Kellie Magnus

10. Mr. Evon Mullings

11. Mrs. Jolette Russell

12. Ms. Beverley Lashley, National Librarian

13. Ms. Nicole Bryan, Staff Representative


Board Functions

The Board of Management is responsible for the policy guidelines and general administration of the Library. There are six advisory committees which assist the Board in carrying out its functions. They are:

  • Audit
  • Facilities, Building and Planning
  • Finance and Investments
  • Human Resource and Administration
  • Jamaica  Libraries and Information Network (JAMLIN)
  • Poet Laureate

All Board Committees consist of at least two Board Members and one member of staff. The Chairman of the Board of Management and the National Librarian are ex-officio on all Committees. External persons may be appointed by the Chairman of the Board as required. The Board of Management meets quarterly but the Chairman may call meetings as necessary. Board Committees meet as least twice yearly.